live rock to stocked aquarium?

Price

Small Fish
Jan 22, 2008
I have a FO tank with no live rock that I have had for just over a year. I have no knowledge about live rock myself. I have a wet/dry sump, a skimmer, and 15w uv ster. All appears to be going fine with the parameters so far. I have 1 inch of live sand and just some decorations. The only media I have is a carbon pad in the wetdry.

After reading thru many posts I'm beggining to think I'd be much safer going with live rock in the long run. My question is can I add cured live rock in small amounts to a set up /stocked tank? The tank is a 120 gallon tank so I assume I would need 120+ pounds. Could I add say 10-20 pounds a month or so w/o taking to much risk to the fish I have (yellow tang, marron clown, hippo tang, and a lion fish)? or would adding rock now do more harm than good? :confused:

I also have plenty of rubbermaid containers with powerhead/heaters if I needed to keep the rock in there for a short time if that would help.

MOsborne05

Superstar Fish
Oct 3, 2005
Gibsonburg, OH
As long as it is cured live rock and it is going directly from the lfs to your tank, and you keep it in water along the way, it should not harm your fish. You might see a little spike in ammonia if there is any die-off but a water change will clear it up. I think it would be beneficial to your tank in the long run because the live rock will filter the tank. Do you have any powerheads on your tank? If not, you will need to pick up a few to circulate the water over the rock.

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
if the rock is truely cured than you should be fine the problem is it usually isnt.... to be safe you can stick it in a rubbermaid container with a powerhead and check your levels after a week to make sure theres no die off

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana