Long Time Listener...1st Time Caller

Stykman

Medium Fish
Mar 12, 2008
Aston, PA
Hello everyone, I'm new to myfishtank.net Forums, but I've had Fresh and Saltwater for years. I just recently got back into the hobby with my son, who is 8. We cycled a 55 gallon tank, and stocked it over the last few weeks and it's in his bedroom. The fish are doing quite well.

I found my way here because now that my son has gotten me back into this fun hobby, I am trying to figure out what to do with my 125 Gal Tank. I considered doing a Saltwater Tank, I've done it before, and I remember it was a little bit more work, but not terrible. I had to give all the livestock away when we moved, and I just never started it back up again. But I think I'm leaning toward doing another Freshwater tank.

Since I've been out of the hobby for about 5-6 years, I was wondering if I could get some Opinions & I had some questions:

1 - Since I am leaning toward Freshwater, what kinds of AquaScaping would you suggest? Is there such thing as Freshwater Live Rock? What kinds of Rocks should I use? In a 125 Gal Tank, I'll have a LOT of Space.

2 - I would like to have Live Plants, what are the requirements for Bed material? Can an underground filter be used with live plants? What kind of fish would "feed" on the plants, but Not Devistate them?

3 - Would a Protien Skimmer be good to use in a Freshwater Tank?

Thanks for all your help.

First of all, welcome! This is a great place for info!!!

Hm. What can you do with that 125g? Well, one option would be to give it to me...hehe. Jk :D

Those questions seem too advanced for me but here are some tips:

ishar I believe knows plenty about aquascaping.
Check out the "looking for a mentor" thread in the lounge. That shows who knows the most about what. Very useful. Live plants are awesome but I don't have an underground filter so I can't comment on that.

So, that's all I know. Definitely hang around for more opinions. The more the better!