Looking for input...

Mar 25, 2006
Chicago, IL
I'm not a complete beginner as far as aquarium fish are concerned and have had several different tanks over the years (mostly 10 gals), but I'm considering taking the next step and am looking for some input.

I'm thinking about moving up to the next level, starting a 30-gallon tank and, for the first time, live plants.

I've done some research and am probably a few months away from actually starting the tank (something about having to study for the CPA exam between now and then), but I've got a fairly good idea of what kind of fish I'm interested in.

Please take a look at what is a very preliminary thought process and see if you have any guidance about the possible mix of fish and any suggestions for plant species - or, basically, anything else that might be helpful as I start to move towards this project.

Here are the fish I'm considering:

2 Blue Rams (I've had them before and love them - I suppose they're the "feature fish" in this community)
2 Julii Corys (or other corys)
2 Otocinclus (possibly Zebra? guidance on that would be appreciated)
6 Purple Emporer Tetras
And then one other fish - either an Angelicus Botia Loach, Upside Down Catfish, or Flying Fox (guidance amongst the group would be particularly appreciated).

Please let me know if you think that might be too crowded - overcrowding is the last thing I want to do.

Thanks in advance for any tips, suggestions, or help you can offer, and I'm glad to be joining the community!

-Jeff

Last edited:

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Welcome to the site :D

It mostly sounds like a good setup. :) I have heard that rams and cories don't mix well. Cories are defenseless, and rams get very territorial when they're breeding. I think it would be better if you don't get the cories.