MH set up

CoolWaters

Superstar Fish
Dec 10, 2006
Milpitas
anyone know wat parts do i need for a set up on a 250 watt metal halide?
right now i have a ballast and a capacitor. all pre-wired.

im new at this and it didnt come with a helpful guide....

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site
reflector, socket assembly.
For the reflector, you can buy one from an hydroponic store or home hardware, it's like 20$ vs 50. Same thing.
If you don't want one, you can use mylar if you have a top ( i assume you do if you use DIY mh ) but if the distance between the bulb and the mylar is too close it may melt. Mylar = 1$ per feet, 99% reflection.

CoolWaters

Superstar Fish
Dec 10, 2006
Milpitas
KahluaZzZ said:
reflector, socket assembly.
For the reflector, you can buy one from an hydroponic store or home hardware, it's like 20$ vs 50. Same thing.
If you don't want one, you can use mylar if you have a top ( i assume you do if you use DIY mh ) but if the distance between the bulb and the mylar is too close it may melt. Mylar = 1$ per feet, 99% reflection.

thanks i'll see if theres any good reflectors around.if there isnt then i'll use mylar with a cooling fan.

wats a good socket assembly to get? the ballast is a m58. it doesnt have a plug so wat should i get?

Joe Fish

Superstar Fish
Apr 21, 2006
Penn State
josy.isa-geek.com
Any reflective material is better than not using one. I went with an electronic aro ballast so I can't give you any info on that one. I will say good luck in the wiring process though it shouldn't be too hard.

Make sure you get a grounded plug of the same guage wire. If you are going to be powering a mogul bulb than get a mogul socket. I got my stuff from hellolights.com.

JeLeAk

Large Fish
Jan 4, 2005
Alaska
gauge is a "in the know" way of saying wire thickness

basically you dont want to buy wire smaller than what you already have, because it might melt/catch on fire due to resistance