My 45 Gallon gateway back into fish keeping

Sep 20, 2009
Hey everyone! I just bought a 45 gallon aquarium from a garage sale for $20. I think that was a steal. I use to be all over this site about 5 years ago with two 10 gallon tanks.

Now here's the new setup:
- 45 Long
- Aqua Tech Power Filter #3 30-60
- Sand from some local sand dunes
- Water

5-in-1 test strip:
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 0
GH: 150-300 ppm
KH: ~200 ppm
pH: >7.8 (about 8) (the tapwater here is really hard ??what do i do??)

As soon as the cloudiness settles and gets filtered out ( I have sponge wrapped around the filter intake and sponge in the filter ) I will be cycling, but I would like to do the fastest & most efficient way to cycle. I just dont have the patience for a fishless month-long cycle (I'm just way too excited hah).

So what do you think:

2-3 guppies, and some plants + CO2 then slowly add more guppies? or do i need more? I'm new at the large tank thing.

I would eventually like to stock the tank with something of the following:

15 - 20 neon tetras
6 fancy gupps
4 ottos
amano (sp?) shrimp / glass shrimp
1-2 Siamese algae eaters

and plants:
wisteria
anacharis
micro-sword( or grass of some sort)
cabomba / myrio
some miniature anubius or sword plant

Any suggestions? Advice? Criticism? Comments? I welcome them.

I will try to get some pictures of the setup process soon

MrParker

Large Fish
Feb 16, 2005
So Cal
HEYY! I am actually redcapeman(the one that posted this thread), i just found my old username, so I'm on here. Still need advice for this 45 gallonator though...

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
Yea that sounds quite dangerous, you never know what kind of garbage (pesticides, toxic waste, harmful minerals) is in that sand UNTIL you test the water thats been in contact with it for a LONG time. dont be in a big hurry to add fish (especially the real fish) especially because youre using that sand.