My 75..... Opinions wanted

dogdoc

Large Fish
Sep 6, 2005
O.K. hopefully I can do this right and attatch the pic. It's my first try.

75 gal
Rena xp3
AC110
2x 200w Tronic heaters
Eco-complete substrate (120lbs.)

Just put the plants in this weekend. No fish yet.
I'm O.K. with the arrangement, but not completely happy yet. Would love any expert advice or critique.

Pic could be better, still learning that part

Attachments

Last edited:

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Not bad...I do really like the dark substrate. Have you thought of doing some natural stone or some pieces of driftwood? It seems like maybe some more structure in there would help add another dimension (height?) Of course as the plants grow and fill in they will add a lot also.

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
It looks like you're off to a great start!

I personally like vals mostly at the back of the tank to make a nice "backdrop." Once they get started, they spread a lot, but usually in a straight line.

If possible, add some more fast-growing stem plants in there (whatever is cheapest) to help outcompete the algae while the tank establishes. You can remove them later when things settle down. There's often some algae in the first few months of setting a tank up.

TLM4x4

Large Fish
Jul 21, 2005
southern oregon coast
Hey good first try on everything...the pic AND the tank...it will start to fill in with the plants in there yes but I agree with Froggy, it needs some driftwood or large river rocks..maybe check out the "rate my tank" section for some ideas and then go with your own~dont be afraid to fiddle with it as sometimes it takes just that to get it how you think it is pleasing and functional as well. WTG Doc!

dogdoc

Large Fish
Sep 6, 2005