Fishywishy

Large Fish
Sep 19, 2006
I'm new to this whole fish thing.. been about 2 months now

Here's the current 10g
10 gal

here's the current 2.5g
2.5 gal

As some of you remember I killed lots of fish, then I came here found all sorts of useful information like "tank cycling" and "overstocking", bought the 10gal, put a betta in it to cycle it...etc. (got lots of good advice)

Well, a week into cycling the 10gal, and trying to do a fishless cycle on 2.5 gal, I caved and let my son get a couple more fish. (we had been through 1 ammonia spike and nitrate spike). So, I looked for some zebra danios as suggested. The store didn't have any, so I ended up taking home 3 glowlight tetra's. Of course, the kid put in the bag 2 glowlights and 1 albino something tetra. This stupid fish would circle the tank looking for something to pick on. The albino tetra attacked all the others and tore up the betta's fins within hours. So, I took him back to the store. The manager was apologetic, gave me 2 more glowlight tetras free of charge. After putting the other 2 glowlight tetras in the tank (making the tank now contain 4 glowlight tetras and 1 betta), the betta became very aggressive and started attacking the tetras. When I awoke in the morning I had a dead tetra to fish out of the tank, and the betta was chasing the others. So, I did a complete water change on 2.5 gal tank (it was sitting doing nothing but a fishless cycle..and other then ammonia none of the water stats had changed since adding the ammonia) treated the water etc.. stuck in the beta.