my fishes died on the first day

Jun 7, 2009
hey
i am a beginner for the aquarium. I bought a new aquarium of about 25 lts. As i am new my local fish seller told me that he ll give a totally set aquarium for a fixed price, with 5 pairs of fish. I was happy to have so many fishes. But all my fishes died within 8hrs.This is what the local fish seller told me to do.fill the tank with tap water and add 8 drops of rid-alls anti itch and then pour all the 10 fishes in the tank. he didnt tell me anything about cycle. i am really sad as all my fish died on th first day only...plz help what was wrong???

damian09

Large Fish
Mar 31, 2009
could have been cold water shock if u didnt have the temp right or it could have been the clorine in your tapwater dont think it had any thing to do wit cycleing but that seems quite qwik for fish to die there is some thing called aqua safe its water treatment for the clorine in tap water and u should let a tank cyle for at least a week miss fishy have a post on cycle your tank hope you find out wat happened i would be gr8ful if u could keep me updated on this post thanks mate

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
Well firstly, I'm sorry all your fish died. To determine what caused it within 8 hours it might be interesting to know what fish you bought if you know.

Sadly, it sounds like the guy at the store was just trying to make a fast sale. The website Damian mentioned above is MissFishy's Guide to Fish, and is well worth a visit. There you'll find out all about setting up and cycling a tank properly to ensure your fish live happy and healthily.