Need Advice...

Mr. Fishy

Small Fish
Mar 8, 2009
Portland, OR
Ok, so I am pretty new to the hobby and I have a ten gallon tank with a Betta, 5 Zebra Danios, and a recently added Otto. Along with that I have a empty small flower pot on its side, two Java ferns tied down to some river rocks, the ferns are growing all over the place, so I am guessing thats a good sign. But... Im not really satisfied completely. What should I add? I have been doing tons of research and I cant find anything really. But there has to be something...

Another things I was wondering... I have a little over 2 inches of gravel in my tank, ha is that to much? Because I dont have any plants that are under gravel (When I first put it together I did, but the plant died and made a mess). And if it is, what is a good way to remove some?

Thank you for your time,

- Mr. Fishy

Whiskers

Large Fish
Feb 29, 2008
central Michigan USA
first welcome to the tank. i think your 10gal is stocked as much as possible. questions that will come your way are: did you cycle your tank? do you know what your water prams are? how often do you do water changes? how often do you feed fish? there are some i'm sure i have mentioned. as far as your gravel goes i would try to keep it thin since it will hold a lot of fish waste and left over food causing nitrates to go up (want to keep nitrate under 40ppm). IMO up to 2" of gravel is enough. as far as removel of gravel just scoop some out (with small cup or with hand) and move it around till you get desired level. some ppl don't even use substrait in their tanks. its all about personal preference and what you want your tank to looke like. Enjoy!

Mr. Fishy

Small Fish
Mar 8, 2009
Portland, OR
Thanks Whiskers for such a fast reply.

To answer your questions...

Yes, I cycled the tank.

I do not know what my water parameters are.

I Just add more water once a little has evaporated. I know it sounds bad but my tank and fish look great still.