Need help transitioning from 1 tank to other.

Kellie

Small Fish
Oct 15, 2005
I need some advice for transitioning from one tank to another. I am having to put my 46G in storage for a few years and so I'm setting up a 7G to ease my addiction for awhile. I will be using the same gravel, and a few plants from the old tank. Can I squeeze out the old filter into my new tank? I can also take water straight from my old tank and put it in the new one. I want to avoid cycling if at all possible.

Thanks so much for the help!!!*twirlysmi

Aug 23, 2005
bellaire, ohio
i asked the water question a few weeks ago myself. the old water will do nothing for your cycling, from what everyone tells me the bacteria u need is in your filter media, substrate, plants, etc etc, if you move your filter directly from your 46 to your 7, you should be okay, you might get a mini cycle. this is my opinion based on things ive read on here and questions ive asked, im not an expert. when i did my 10 gallon, i ran my filter in my 55 gallon for a week or so to give it a chance to build up some good bacteria.

fiugzel

Large Fish
Oct 5, 2005
Metuchen, NJ
Yeah, BigDaddy is right from what I read online.

I set up my 10g with a few cups of gravel from my 29g and with the filter media from the old tank also. They're different kinds of filters, so I wrapped the 29's media around the intake of the 10's filter to transfer the floss. All new water, though. It's jump started the process pretty well. Tomorrow will be a week and I think the tank is just about ready. Good luck!

Kellie

Small Fish
Oct 15, 2005
So I guess my follow up question is, "Will it cycle just by using the substrate, plants and filter or will I need to add some fish from my old tank?" I don't want to jeopardize their lives. I have about 10 days before the old tank has to go into storage.

fiugzel

Large Fish
Oct 5, 2005
Metuchen, NJ
I'd wait for a more experienced opinion on that one.