Need help with a setup

jas

New Fish
Apr 8, 2010
Hey guys,

This is my first post here on this forum, but I have been in the aquarium hobby for 2.5 years now. Since I have started, I have only kept a marine tank and never really ventured into the freshwater stuff...until now....maybe.

My gf and I just moved in together and we have been talking about setting up a tank in the apartment. We want something small, manageable, and aesthetically pleasing. Space isnt really and issue, but she isnt into the idea of a large tank (otherwise I would move my reef in ;)). Sooo, long story short, we found a large glass bottle, about the same size and shape as a 5 gallon drum, and we want to try to turn it into a freshwater tank.

I was thinking we would do some type of a plant that will grow out of the top. I have a lot of experience with keeping mangroves with my reef tank, and I think that once the plant starts to grow, it could create a pretty cool root structure for some very small fish to live in.

My question is, would this be possible to do without having any type of filtration or lighting? We plan to keep it on the balcony of the apartment which gets roughly 6 hours of direct sunlight and the rest of the day in the shade (some light still gets through). We would like to use the glass jar as the aquarium and we wouldnt want a lot of wires, boxes, equipment, etc, out in the open.