Need some advice

Apr 12, 2006
I am fairly new to the hobby and have a 55gal with a red tail shark and 6 tiger barbs.... I am not sure what else to get, I really can't make a decision. Any suggestions for fish that would be compatible with what I already have??
I like the ghost glass cats but I'm not sure if they are compatible.

harrythek said:
I am fairly new to the hobby and have a 55gal with a red tail shark and 6 tiger barbs.... I am not sure what else to get, I really can't make a decision. Any suggestions for fish that would be compatible with what I already have??
I like the ghost glass cats but I'm not sure if they are compatible.
You should be fine with the glass cats. Get yourself at least four...and have a couple floating plants and a good current in there, as they are river fish.

You can also get yourself some loaches...either khuuli or yoyo. Get at least three of whichever you choose. Myself, I have both, and find the yoyos are more active, though the khuulis get bigger.

I'd throw three or four oto cats in there as well...to keep your tank algae free, and maybe a snail or some shrimp.

SkwidsLair said:
You should be fine with the glass cats. Get yourself at least four...and have a couple floating plants and a good current in there, as they are river fish.

You can also get yourself some loaches...either khuuli or yoyo. Get at least three of whichever you choose. Myself, I have both, and find the yoyos are more active, though the khuulis get bigger.

I'd throw three or four oto cats in there as well...to keep your tank algae free, and maybe a snail or some shrimp.
i dont think anyone should "throw" anything into the tank, and glass cats are huge i assure you. i think skwid is thinking of glass tetras.....

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado