Need some aquarium veterans advise on setting up a 160 gallon freshwater tank

Nov 14, 2005
I know you guys hate newb questions, but I'd like some advise...I've read threw the forums and have gotten your general ideas for setting up a new tank but nothing too specific. I have aquired a 160 gallon tank and stand and that is it. I am trying to decide on what to purchase for a pump and their seems to be 100s of options out there and things(for lack of a better word) that u MUST HAVE in a tank. keep in mind that I am an extreme newb. There seems to be aerators that have filters for under the gravel or circulation pumps? I've read that wet/dry pumps work best from some. Others recommend canistor filters. When reading some forums that explain the pumps it states that they are also aerators? Im just not sure what I need to purchase to set up this tank.
Due I need those tray setups underneath to aerate the water? or can I just put the gravel in? Which pump would you recommend to a beginner, that wouldnt need too much maintance a week? I've read on these forums I should use a heater. Which heater do u recommend for my tank? Do I need seperate pumps, biowheels, etc..? Is there an all in one option? I dont plan on getting any large fish, I would like several small fish of several species, maybe even some crabs or crawlfish. I figure alot of u have done alot of trial and error and maybe could start me off in the right direction. thanks...*celebrate

scubadude

Large Fish
Aug 20, 2005
carthage,MO.