Needing some good advice!

Aug 18, 2006
Midlothian, TX
I am a rank beginner with regard to fish, although I have done quite a bit of homework on the internet. My difficulty (as with most beginners) is that my ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate numbers are off. I started up my tank around June 12, 2006. The one I am asking about today is a 10-gal tank, but I am also fixing up a 55-gal. which will be ready to fill in a few weeks. I watched my water cycle carefully before putting in fish, but finally put in 2 black skirt tetras a couple of weeks ago because my ammonia level was low and my nitrite level was off the chart high and I was told my tank would not fully cycle until I added fish to complete the cycle. I also added some ph down because my water's hardness was extremely high and extremely alkaline. The water ph is now adequate, within ideal to okay levels (it has been at 6.8, but is now slowly creeping up to 7.8), and the hardness has leveled off at 75, but I'm still having problems with the other numbers. :confused: My nitrate level began at 40 when I first put in the fish, and my nitrite level was at 10+ and ammonia level at 6.0. I did a couple of partial water changes, and brought it down to it's lowest point at nitrate 20, nitrite 5.0+ and ammonia 3.0. But not long after that (less than 2 days later) I tested again and the nitrate was at 20+, the nitrite went to 10.0, and the ammonia back up to 6.0. I did two more partial water changes this week, but my current tests show nitrate at 40, nitrite at 10.0, and ammonia at 6.0. At this point, I'm not sure what's going on with the water or what I should be doing. I have never officially seen my ammonia or nitrite levels go to zero. Can someone set me on the straight path?