Neon Tetra & Bronze Cory School Size Suggestions

Kimb

New Fish
Nov 3, 2010
Missouri
Hello! I have a 75 Gallon tank with 3 Silver Dollars and one Rubber Lip Pleco. Now that my oscar is dead, I'd like to change my tank more towards a schooling tank.

I'm leaning towards filling out my tank with Neon Tetras and Bronze Corys (and maybe one or two more Silver Dollars ~ there used to be 6). I'd like to have as many tetras as possible, but I don't want to leave my other fish lonely. I have a few questions:

1. What size schools would you suggest?

2. I don't use a light for my tank, just the lighting in the room, will I still be able to see the neons well?

3. Do you have a better suggestion for my main school of fish given what I said?

Thanks in advance, I'm new to the idea of keeping dozens of fish and even though I've kept fish for years, I feel like a newbie.

Oct 25, 2010
I have 20 neon tetras and I just love them...If I had the size of your tank, I would get alot. When my tank light is off, i really cant see them but then again I do not have room lights where my tank is.

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
I always found their blue showed up especially well with just room lights on. I'd do a big school of neons.. perhaps 20-30. I'd probably up your silver dollars to 6 again and as newman said I think 8-10 cories would be good. If you want more cories then perhaps 20 neons and 12-15 cories?

Just out of interest, why do you not use a light?

Kimb

New Fish
Nov 3, 2010
Missouri
My SDs are full grown, about 4.5 inches. The pleco is new and is about 1.5 -2 inches.