New 10g stock question

Hey all! I'm new to the forums and I had a couple of questions about a tank I'm getting ready to set up.

First of all, I'm pretty familiar with fish, but I'm no expert. I grew up with numerous setups, but haven't had anything to do with fish since I moved out of my parents house about a year ago. I'm currently living in an apartment with my boyfriend of 3 1/2 years and he's decided to let me set up a tank. I want to set up a nice 10g tank to get back into the flow of things before I set up my 55g and I was wondering what kind of stock I could have with the following fish in mind:

Dwarf Gourami
Fancy Guppy
Neon Tetra
Amano Shrimp
ADF
Oto and/or Albino Cory

I could do without the ADF and amano shrimp if I had to, but I've never had either before, so I thought it might be something new and interesting.

The tank will be somewhat planted as well, which I've never done -- I've always had fake plants, and I was also wondering what kind of filtration and lighting would be best for my setup.

Any other advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any comments!

Last edited:

Rebgen

Small Fish
Feb 4, 2005
Central Iowa
You should get lots of good replies...while you're aiting I'll take a stab at some of your question.

1) Lighting: Since you mention this will be a planted tank you'll want to determine what plants you want and what their light requirements will be. There are plenty of low light plants to choose from if you want to avoid more expensive high-light set-ups. Check this site out for some ideas. http://www.plantgeek.net/article_viewer.php?id=17

One of my tanks is an Eclipse 12 and it has several of those plant s growing well with 1.25 WPG and no CO2 supplemented.