New 125 gal tank, ideas on equipment?

azfishgal

Large Fish
Dec 3, 2006
Arizona USA
OK, I have my new 125 gallon, reef ready tank. *celebrate Will start with FOWLR and then move s l o w l y to coral. I know I need lighting, sump, skimmer, uv, powerheads, pumps, etc. (My husband is building the stand/canopy.) I've been doing some research and there is a lot of stuff out there to say the least. I can trust my lfs store, but who wants to spend that much money.:eek: So, any tips I would greatly appreciate. And remember, I'm still learning the saltwater verbage, so spell it out for me. :D Oh, one specific question I have is what bulbs can I use (can I get T5s) with the light fixtures that came with my tank. I have three light fixtures about 22" long. (I know I will have to upgrade when I start adding coral).

Thanks so much for your help! *SUNSMILE*

Edit: Oh and if you can give me the best place to buy my equipment (if you are allowed to do that on this forum).

ram man

Superstar Fish
Apr 16, 2005
Arizona
the lights should do for now without any corals. for sw check out "about the reef"(lfs) good store, and should know about every thing you need.

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
If you are looking for online stores I like marineandreef.com and marinedepot.com

For a tank of that size I can't reccomend a skimmer (no personal experience) but I know Lotus is setting up a similar tank so maybe she can help.

You do not need a UV filter.

The big stuff for you right now is going to be the return pump from the sump (get one that does a lot of GPH...and figure out if you want a submersible or external pump) and powerheads. You want to turn the water over in the tank a minimum of 10x (I would shoot for more like 25x) per hour so you are going to want your pumps to total at least 1,250gph.

I wouldn't spend any money on lights until you are ready for coral. At that point, get a high quality metal halide fixture with Double Ended HQI bulbs.

Lotus