New 12g Eclipse Nightmare please HELP!!!

Sep 24, 2009
Hi guys, I am a newbie - but did my due diligence and read about tank cycling and proper tank maintenance.
Bought from Dr foster and smith:

1 .Marineland Eclipse 12 tank(lights and biofilter in the lid)
2. African driftwood decor
3. Water heater 50W
4. Colonize new tank additive
5. Stress coat.
6. some plastic plants.
7. 3g quarantine tank.
8. Aerator pump/tubing and air stone.
9. Tesk kit (strips)
10. Bottomfeeder pellets and TetraFeed flakes
12. washed gravel bag.

- so far so good
put about 2 inches of gravel, plastic plants, small castle, driftwood and
filled the tank with filtered water from Aquasana under counter water filter
Added a tea spoon of colonize.

- let it stand with running filter for 2 days.(I was happy - was a great little project for kids.)

- here where the nightmare begins.
Went to Petland Discount(Brookly, NY -3815 Nostrand Ave)
After discussing my setup with store manager(woman in mid 40s) - she suggested I get 4 Glowfish and 4 fancy guppies to cycle the tank. (When I asked her - isn't it too many fish to start off? - She just smiled - saying its a very tiny fish for my setup - and they will be just fine. )

I went through Drip - acclimation process - to get the fish in.

- Well - one female guppy developed puffy lips on second day and the other seemed to be gasping for air. In two days the were both dead... - I removed them immediately from the tank.

-Four days later both guppies Males developed an Ick on their tails.
- immediately I started salt water treatment for them.
In about two weeks, everything seemed back to normal - all of the fish was alive, and the tank was nearing its cycle.

I decided to replace two dead female guppies and get a placo to clean the bottom.
- Went to the same store - and got two female guppies and a whiptail placo.