new 15 gallon planted tank advice

Feb 16, 2015
Hi guys,
Im a newbie to planted tanks . Previously had a betta in a 1.5 gallon bowl. After he passed away, decided to start a planted tank. I stay in an apartment, so couldnt afford to get a large tank.decided on a 15 gallon ( 24x12x12 inches)
So i ended up with all this:
Substrate: a mixture of fluval shrimp substrate and fluval regular plant substrate (1.5 inches deep)
water volume : comes to around 11 gallons (after excluding the substrate and the air at the top)
Filter: 2 sponge filters, one in each back corner
A piece of driftwood
Plants: 3 dwarf crypts, a cabomba at the back, 5-6 bunches of twisted vallisnerias on each side, and dwarf sagitarias (12-15 total) spread out over the centre, and some java moss( a small piece) tied to the driftwood (hope it increases in size and spreads over the wood)
Light: a 40 watt CFL bulb
I was new and in a hurry and so ended up adding the fish too soon without waiting for the tank to cycle fully.. i added a bacteria supplement to hurry up the process though ( the bottle label said to add 10 ml every day over a week to hasten the process)
So i ended up adding 10 neons, 10 male fancy guppies and a male halfmoon betta. Lost one neon, but its been 2 weeks now, and the plants are having a few yellow leaves so igot some plant micro and macre nutrient supplement and added them..the fish seem to be doing okay. Im seeing a few split tails on 3 guppies though, a little worried about it. So ive ordered the Tetra easy strips for checking the parameters. Im doing 10-15% water changes weekly.
What else should i do ? any changes? Please advise. Have i overstocked the tank? ( i used the surface area formula – acc to it i can add 24 fish, i have 20). Thought if i plant heavily, the tank can be heavily stocked. Thanks a ton,
Sid
WP_20150421_19_02_21_Pro.jpg

P.s: sorry for the poor image. clicked it from my phone :p

Last edited:

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
Looks like a nice setup.