New Betta & Snail

LADYD

New Fish
Sep 1, 2005
hi im new to this i have a male betta and just put in a snail what do i feed the snail and does he move? what other fish can i have in his tank? i had a otto in it by it died the next day did my precious kill it or was he in shock? :confused:

Last edited:

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
What size tank do you have them in? Yes...snails move. Usually mine like to eat leftover food or I'll drop them an algae wafer every few days. Ottos really need an established tank to live in...otherwise he might have died from being in shock, or starvation or ammonia poisoning etc.

Have you checked your water levels? Did your tank cycle? And the chances of the Otto being killed by the MALE Betta are high! Bettas don't tend to like other fish (my female has an exception)... and i think males are TOTALLY not okay with other fish.. they get too territorial.. so don't put any fish in with him.. snails are okay! He could've died from ammonia shock like Froggy said.. therefore, check your water levels.. and if you haven't cycled your tank, there is a chance that *ahem* your Betta could die too.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Male bettas wont usually harm ottos, as ottos like to keep to themselves and are not usually in the way of bettas. Most male bettas are just fine to keep with a short list of other fish.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado