New Cichlid Tank

GT3050

Medium Fish
Apr 14, 2003
Visit site
Hi,
I am new to cichlids; although I have been helping and learning from a friend of mine who has kept fish for a while. None of my friends have much experience with cichlids. I am interested in starting a South American Cichild tank. I have a few questions to ask before I start.
My tank will most likely be a 33 gallon kit (the aquarium is 36x12x18). I have several filter options and I'm not sure which one is best. I could mount a AC300+an AC150. This would be the cheapest option as the AC300 comes in the kit and I can get th AC150 from a friend. My second option is a single AC500, this would provide me with slightly more flitration; however I would only have one filter and I'm not sure if the current would be too strong around the intake (this might suck young cichlids into the intake). My thrid option is the most expensive, a fluval 304, mabye with the AC300. Too many options .... sorry if that's hard to follow.
My other questions treats the subjuect of stocking. I am aware that I could probably keep a Convict or Firemouth pair in the tank; however I would perfer to keep a Blue Acara (or a pair if possible). I was also considering a solitary Green Terror or Jack Dempsey. One other option I've been considering is a pair of jewel cichlids. I'm not sure if these fish will fit in the aquarium though. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Apr 15, 2003
markandlacey.com