New Fish Afraid of Dark?

Zabak80

Small Fish
Jun 10, 2005
Hi guys and girls, first time posting.

I have a new aquarium, properly cycled and all water parameters have been checked and double checked and all are ok. I'm more familiar with the goldfish in my other aquariums and freshwater tropical are a little new to me. I added 5 neon tetras and 3 guppies (the only fish) and all are doing very, very well. However, when I turn off my light, they lose their color, appear motionless and look like they have died. I went away for only 2 hours with the light off and that is how they were when I returned. I put the light back on and they all, except for one who is recovering a bit slowly, got their color back and look normal again. When I turn the light off they scatter and run for cover

So what should I do? I haven't turned the light off in fear of killing them. Advise would be very helpful and appreciated.

Jul 23, 2004
Visit site
first off welcome to the tank, im not an expert but i would say that maybe the quick on and offing of the light might be scaring the fish, as far as the color loss, are you sure its not just the lights? maybe the fish are just stressed some? good luck with it though.

Brad

Orion

Ultimate Fish
Feb 10, 2003
Kentucky
www.thefishcave.net
Neon's are very skittish anyway. And yes, the lights going on and off does scare them. Many people use a timer for the tank lights to help get the fish used to the same day/night cycle, and this does help.

I have noticed that some of my fish loose their color while the lights are out and they are resting. My Rasboras, Cardnal tetra, and Lemon tetra's are good for this. I don't know exactly why, but I belive it may have something to do with being less noticeable to any preditors while they are resting. A little bit of time with the lights on, and they are colored right back up.

And Welcome to the tank!

Zabak80

Small Fish
Jun 10, 2005