New setup rating

madlan

New Fish
May 5, 2003
Visit site
Hello everyone!

Im new to marine keeping, but i have kept many exotic animals, and tropical fish for many years, i now have the cash and space to setup a small marine tank, i have been reading every website and book i can find, and are about to setup my first marine system, i know theres no right or wrong way to do marines, no set ways like freshwater! so i thought i would post my proposed setup, in the hope of some feedback.
heres my setup so far:

I have a

48"(L)x18"(H)x15"(W) All glass tank.

STM T5 double tube system with gull wing reflectors

Eheim 2777 wet/dry filter
containing 4 litre Ehfisubstrate

Prime 10 external filter
containing activated carbon and phosphate remover

Fluval 104 external filter
empty, used to power small fluidized sand filter

Red Sea Prizm Skimmer

200watt tronic heater with full guard

Marine Enviroment salt

2 power heads at each end

RO water only will be used
========================

Heres the questions!

1. Any comments on the above setup?!?

2. I plan to setup the tank this week,
then order 20KG of live rock, due to the very
high price here (£200) is it possible to add a box a month, i have been told 3 boxes (60KG) will be the minimum to provide a stable reef setup, and lower nitrates.

3. I plan to use a 3" layer of Live Aragonite, should this be added before or after the Live rock? due to the ammonia produced by the live rock while cycling, will this damage the bacteria in the sand?

4. At what time should the cleanup crew be added?
hermits, turbo snails etc?

5. Will the ehiem filter be too good at reducing ammonia and nitrites? not leaving enough for the sand/rock, if so would reducing the medium in the filter help?

Thanks in advance for any input/advice!

Alan. *celebrate

BrianH

Medium Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Oakland, NJ
1)You seem to have a pretty good grasp for a beginner.