New Tank - A Few Questions

May 30, 2005
HI,

I'm new to all this but am trying to setup a salt water fish only tank. I just have a few questions.
The setup is 125 gallons with flourescent lighting. Crushed coral gravel, no live rock, with 5 small Damsels and one small Clown. I'm using an under the tank filter system that has a couple different aggregates inside. Two tube type heaters and a power jet.

The tank has had fish for about 2 1/2 weeks. My salinity is in range and I have made no water changes. I definately do not overfeed the fish. Now, from everything I read I should experience an ammonia surge or nitrite surge. But so far both are testing as non-detectable.

The fish seem happy and the water looks maybe a little greenish. I added a protein skimmer just today.

Shouldn't I be experiencing some sort of chemical changes by now? Does it sound like I'm on the right track to make the cycle happen? Is there anything else I should be doing? Lastly, is there supposed to be anything in the protein skimmer other than water flow? I'm getting a very small amount of foam at the top but not what I was expecting.

Thansk!

Larry

Last edited:

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site
cycling may take some time 'cause there is no die-off from live rock since you have none. In the beginning of my first SW tank, i had like only 5 pounds of LR and crushed coral + 2 damsels. Took like a month and a half. I skimmed till day 1, and the skimming slowed down the cycling process.

May 30, 2005
Thanks!

I have both black and blue Damsels. I do want to keep them. They appear to follow me wherever I go. I think I'm thier God, or just the guy that feeds them :)

Larry

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
you will definitely want some LR for biological filtration