New Tank!! Any Advice?

tjmino

Small Fish
Aug 15, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
Hi guys,

I wouldn't say I'm completely new to keeping an aquarium, I've helped with friends' for years, but now is the first time I've felt capable of responsibly keeping one of my own. Sooo I recently ordered the Seaclear tall 25 gallon tank with the Eclipse 2 filter/lighting hood (I've had some experience with the Eclipse hood, and I love the all-in-one look). I'll be laying black Eco Complete substrate (I think 2 inches is sufficient?), so I can try my green thumb at growing some plants -- right now I'm looking at placing 2 ruffled swords and a crinum aquatica, although when it comes time to actually do it, I'll probably just pick out what looks best from my LFS. Then, I already bought a Penn Plax castle with what I believe to be sufficient hiding space, when the fish are still small, at least -- this can be changed later; plus, I'll put a small piece of driftwood or a rock. Anyway, for the real question (although I'd love advice to the previously mentioned ideas too!), I picked out the fish I think I want in the tank, and I was wondering if you guys could tell me if it would work.

1) opaline gourami
2) golden gourami
3) boesemani rainbow
4) german blue ram cichlid
5) african dwarf frog -- will it be too small for some of the fish?
6) rainbow shark or redtail shark
7) pleco, possibly peppermint or gold nugget

So, will these get along? And also, how do you guys feel about having live fish shipped to you from online fish stores? I assume it's safe seeing as how they fish are shipped to local fish stores anyway, but I'm still weary. It's going to be tough to find the exact fish I want at just any store, though.

Well, let me know what you think! Any advice is greatly appreciated

sweetpickles7

Superstar Fish
Feb 13, 2007
Central Illinois