New Tank. Pictures. Wondered if anyone could help! :)

Aug 8, 2011
London, England
IMG-20110827-00016.jpg IMG-20110827-00016.jpg
IMG-20110827-00016.jpg

These are pictures of my new set up.

The plants etc are limited because of my budget and if your wondering what the little black thing is, thats the prawn thats helping my tank to cycle.

You may have noticed the tank is a bit cloudy and i was wondering if this is normal for the first few days or even hours. I completed the setting up of the tank about 6 hours before these pictures were taken and thought that the cloudiness would vanish after the tank settled. It is settled but the cloudiness is still there.

Any ideas why? Is the normal?

Sorry if im rushing it but im very new to this and want to get it right!

Any thoughts or tips?

Thanks

George :D

MdngtRain

Large Fish
Jan 9, 2011
New England
Hey there. The tank looks like it's off to a good start. The cloudiness in the water is the beginning of the cycling. Don't worry if it lays a while, it's the process starting to work. just be sure to give it enough time to cycle thru before you start adding fish, and def do water quality checks before adding anyone else to the tank. also, add fish slowly once you start to keep from having to re-cycle with the addition of the new fish (oh, yeah, a quality cycling takes weeks, so don't get too anxious).

what are your stocking plans? Knowing that would help to give you a better idea of what kind of decor you will eventually need. Some fish need caves and hides, while others prefer planted areas or open swimming areas.

Good luck.

Aug 8, 2011
London, England
I am planning to get some tiger barbs, cherry barbs, tetras, maybe plecos and i want some angle fish! Any advice on this selection.

And oh yeah thanks for the input! Helps a lot as im new to this and always learning!

:)

George

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA