New to Aquariums

Oct 26, 2012
Cincinnati, OH
I am new to aquariums but I finally decided to get one. I have a freshwater 37 gallon tank with a Penguin Bio wheel 200 filter, 200w heater, Fusion 500 air pump, 1 12" air stone in the middle of the back and two 4" air stones in the corner. I have Marineland LED hood and light and some fake plants, assorted rocks etc. I am now debating on what fish I would like to put in it. I know I have read it's best to add them gradually and to not over stock the tank. I am wanting some colorful fish that are also peaceful. I do like Chiclids but I know if I go with them I won't be able to do any other type of fish. Here are some of the fish I was thinking of

-Cory Cat
-Bala Shark
-Loach
-Suck Catfish
-Tetra
-Mollie
-Pleco
-Angelfish

I know some of them will grow and I will eventually need a larger tank and upgraded heat and filtration and I am fine with that. I just figured this would be a good set up to start with. When adding fish how often would you add in a new one? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois
seems like a solid setup. first off u want to read up on the ammonia/nitrite cycle. you want to go with some hardy fish like some danios to get the cycle taken care of and then replace those with the perminant fish. in a tank that size i'd say the cories are a good choice or another bottom feeder like dojo or koolie loaches. don't get a common pleco, it will get to big for the tank. stick to a dwarf veriety like a clown or bushy nose.. angels will eventually need a larger tank. neon tetras would be good. and i personally would go with guppies over mollies. more color and veriety in my opinion.