New to Aquariums

Oct 26, 2012
Cincinnati, OH
I am new to aquariums but I finally decided to get one. Just as a little background on my set up.

-56 Gallon column style tank that is 30Lx18Wx24H with all glass top
-2 Marineland LED lights (one on each side of the brace bar) the total lumens is 620.
-45lbs of Pure Water Pebbles Gravel
-6 Mini Fake Plants, 1 corner fake coral piece, and 1 large coral piece with spots to hide
-1 4" air-stone circle and 1 12" air stone bar
-Fusion 500 air pump with silicone hose and air check valves
-Hydor Theo 200w heater
-Rena Filstar XP3 Canister Filter

I have had it up and going for about 3 days now and I added a Bio-Boost bacterial agent which has left the water very cloudy over the last 2 days. I was told to wait it out that this is a bacterial bloom. I am to the point where I am not sure if I should add a few fish to assist in the cycle or if I should try to use the Tetra Safestart? I'm not really in a hurry to add fish I just want to make sure the cycle is right and complete. I have read so much conflicting information on adding fish, adding ammonia, use a bio-boost, don't use one etc.

When all is said and done I plan to add 2 Angel Fish, 2 Opaline Gouramis, a Loach, 2 cory cats, and maybe a couple Mollies

59611_3384347268019_756612427_n.jpg

Last edited:

skjl47

Large Fish
Nov 13, 2010
Northeastern Tennessee.
hello; Here is the title of an article about cycling. I have tried to post a link to it on this forum and am pervented from doing so. I have posted it to other forums without any problems. It is a long read but seems to explain things well. Good luck.

NITROGEN CYCLE AND AQUARIUM & POND CYCLING;
How the Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle Works

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois