New to this aquarium thing - dead fishy

Meeg1971

Small Fish
Aug 29, 2009
Alberta, Canada
Ok, so I guess I'm a bad fish owner with a 10 gallon tank (this was what was recommended to me by the pet store since we were just starting out).

I am new to this, my 6 year old just lost his 2 year old goldfish and he cried for 2 days. He decided that he wanted to be a fish owner and decided to get into fresh water fish (he really wanted salt water, but I think that's a lot of work). Anyways, down to the local fish store and bought a 10 gallon tank, got it ready for a week and brought our fishies home after getting the all clear that the water tested perfectly (2 tiger barbs and 1 catfish). This was Wed night, by Fri morning, 1 of our tiger barbs was gone.

Got the water tested, ammonia was really high, did a 50% water change, ammonia now down to .25 and staying there. I am wondering what I should do next, do I continue to do water changes daily - or just leave it? I have bought the ammonia testing kit and will test faithfully. Do I need the ph, or the other tests or is the ammonia the main one I need to keep testing for? When I change the water, I use the tap water conditioner, wait an hour and add cycle. I am careful with feeding as well. I don't feed them much, as there are only 2 fish in there.

Sorry for all of the questions. This is the first time I have owned tropical fish and I think it will be fun, once I get the hang of it, but don't want our fish to suffer in the meantime. I really get attached to them.

Thanks in advance. I really wish I knew about this site before I got the fish. I relied on the "expertise" of the family owned pet store.

/Meeg

p.s. The other tiger barb and catfish seem to be doing well.

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com