New with a betta fish

Oct 10, 2004
USA
Visit site
I have a brand new betta fish , and this is my first time with one of these fish. Today I noticed that he of course is fine, but he went to eat his food and he blew bubbles and it came right now he had the hardest time eatting it so i went away and watched tv and then looked over about 5 minutes later the to pelets i put in there were gone so he must of ate them. And all these yucky dieases ya'll are talking about how can you tell if your fish has that?
Sincerly,
lilfishy2007

Oct 10, 2004
USA
Visit site
Well, I though male betta fish are mean, and hate things like other fish in there tanks. I mean I'd gladly by Craig a mate but i dont want him to kill the other betta. I cant seem to find a female and i want a female so I can make a couple lol. But he does eat the food and i cant tell if he has ich or not... what do i do!!!

Oct 10, 2004
USA
Visit site
Hey! Thanks for the warm welcome. And I dont wanna breed them really because I'm so busy with school and stuff I just wanna know how to tell if he's sick, if he's hungry, when hes mad, and all that. I don't know how to tell if he has ich, he likes the bottom of his tank, but he also swims sometimes but he just floats something and i tap the side of the tank to see if he's alive. Can you tell me how to tell if he has ich. I know its white spots but on these pictures i saw i couldnt tell where the white spots where. Craig my betta is ruby red... so how do i tell?

Iggy

Superstar Fish
Jun 25, 2003
Leduc, AB, Canada
Visit site
Hi lilfishy2007 & welcome to the tank!

Betta males blow bubble nests to attract mates, its a good sign of a healthy betta.

It's not at all necessary to get him a mate, he would blow a nest with our without one.

Mating is not an easy task, I know, I had 360 betta babies to look after last time I spawned bettas.