newbie 10gallon fish suggestions

Dec 28, 2005
hi. im new, starting with a 10 gallon fish tank. i was wondering what kind of fish are compatible with which? i really want colorful and active fish, but i dont know anything about them... any suggestions? thanks i really appreciate it.

Nov 3, 2005
New York
neon tetra are colorful, alot of small fish , community fish are all compatible, just about all of em, u can chose from mollies, guppies, danios, serpae tetras, tiger barbs, theres alot of small fish out there, not all are compitable with each other, any idea what you are goin to get?

Nov 3, 2005
'serendipity' tank
hey there...welcome to the tank...

i'm a newbie too...i've just set up a 40gall[imp] tank...
my first...and i love it...[check my avatar] ...

first thing...can you only afford/have room for a ten gallon...
i really would recommend a bigger setup...as big as you can get...
bigger tank means more fish...easier to control temp....
easier water changes...and lowered risk of sick fishies...

try and get as big as you can...you won't regret it...

as for swimmers...tetras and neons would be great...
they like to be in groups ... keeps them happy...
and makes them active so it looks cool...

if you can get a larger tank i would recommend cories...
i have 6 leopard cories...they are superb...very active...
they scoot about like little dolphins...fantastic...

pop a betta in too...full of character...

check out my sigg. at the bottom...my community is chilled...

surf the 'net for a compatability chart...
i've seen a couple that compare lots of fish...
and tell you if they can co-habit...

ask here too...i always ask and research before i buy a new fish...
betta safe than sorry...

hope this helps...
main point is...get as big a tank as you can ... [within reason] ....

seeya s ... :)

Sep 16, 2005
i've never heard of neon danios... are you talking about those red Glo-fish?