Newbie, about to buy: 20 gallon, etc.?

Jun 26, 2006
Hi:
I am a newbie and I am planning to setup a 20 gallon freshwater. never really had fish before, except a little goldfish bowl when i was a kid (the fish always jumped out, and/or died). no filter, etc.

I am intrigued by the acrylic aquariums. 20 gallon seems like a good size to start out, not too big, not too small.

I thought I would buy the tank, filter, gravel, 1 live plant, the rest fake, get it setup and then add fish later.

Any thoughts on petco's Seaclear aquarium and Marineland filters (I want the best filter, something that will do the best job cleaning tank, money is not a factor).

Here are links to the aquarium and filter:
http://www.petco.com/Shop/petco_Product_R_1014_PC_productlist_Nao_24_Nav_222_N_24%20112_cp_3_sku_543632_familyID_5581.aspx?Ns=P_Price|1
http://www.petco.com/Shop/petco_Product_R_6620_PC_productlist_Nav_217_N_24%20115_sku_897710_familyID_11533.aspx

thanks for help!!!!

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
Sounds like you're off to a good start. I've never heard of seaclear, but marinelands are supposed to be good. Be careful not to scratch the acryllic since it scratches more easily than glass. Also, live plants are excellent, but make sure to get one that is low light unless you want to upgrade the lighting.

Check out the stickies on cycling: http://www.myfishtank.net/forum/showthread.php?t=31669
Fishless cycling will save you a lot of hard work and fishy deaths later on. Or, you can go with biospira since you say that money isn't an issue.

tubbs24

Large Fish
Jan 29, 2006
USA
For a filter (and since you say money is not a factor), for excellent filtration you could go with canister filters such as Fluval, Eheim, and Magnum (Marineland) filters.