Newbie Here "Sorta"

BobOjr

New Fish
Oct 16, 2005
This is my first post. So everyone Hi!

It has been along time since I had a aquarium. Well about 10 years. Now I will be setting up a 75gal. that I got from a friend. The ? I have are undergravel filters still being used or something new I should know about? The last tank I had was a 55gal. with undergravel filter with air pumps and a canister filter. Thanks

seastaar88

Superstar Fish
Feb 1, 2004
middletown, CT
welcome to the forum and welcome back to the hobby!!!!!! :) :) :) first off, i'm jealous you got a 75g from a friend. personally (and this is debated amongst hobbyists...hell the aquarium i work at still uses UGFs...!) i think UGFs are antiquated, as there are much better and more efficient means of filtration availible today in a variety of prices.

i would recomend ditching the UGF (they are good at colonizing bacteria and aeration, but they build up debris in the plate and should be cleaned anually) and go with a canister rated for your system. canisters are very quiet
(virtually silent), efficient and you can add a variety of filtering material within it depending on what you want.

what do you plan on stocking it with???

fiugzel

Large Fish
Oct 5, 2005
Metuchen, NJ
Hey BobOjr - Welcome back!

Check out biowheels. They hang on the back and can be fed from the canister filter to provide biological filtration. I know I never remembered hearing about them 5-10 years ago. Marineland makes a great one.

timisu87

Large Fish
Oct 15, 2004
Visit site
You have yourself a really good friend. Well, using an underground filter is very messy and if you plan to keep a planted tank you will have to redesign your whole bottom each time you have to do a maintance on the filter. The canister filters are much more efficent for a tank of your size.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado