Newbie here

ztdudek

New Fish
May 3, 2007
Hey everyone...i just started getting into the hobby i bought my tank yesterday and got the water running over night and i'm going to buy my fish tonight. I bought a small 10 G tank to start i know its harder to maintain but for the budget and the space i have thats all i could do for now. I want to do tetras i think whats the maxium amount of fish i can get in a 10 G aquarium?

Let me know of any other good starter fish that are fun

Thanks

Zac

fish_chic

Large Fish
Oct 30, 2006
florida
you need to cycle your tank before you put fish in there. you can also cycle your tank with fish maybe some zebra danios but i like to do the fishless cycles. i believe there is a sticky you can go to in the freshwater beginner information/questions about cycling a tank. read up on that and decide what you would like to do.

ztdudek

New Fish
May 3, 2007
i talked to a friend that does fish alot and he said that you can cycle with fish pretty easily if you dont add a bunch right away....is that true?

seastaar88

Superstar Fish
Feb 1, 2004
middletown, CT
you can but it's not recommended. during thecylcle process, even hardy fish will be stressed. remember, fish produce ammonia, and without the proper bacteria in your tank, you could easily end up with a tank full of dead fish.