Newbie here

needlepimp

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2007
Misawa Japan
Hey everyone I'm Kevin I just started a 55 gal with an Odyssea CFS4 Canister, an Odyssea PS75 Protein Skimmer, and a 130 watt compact light with 50/50 Tubes. it has been running just over a week. i also just got a 10 gal tank from someone near me with 10 lbs live rock, 20 lbs live sand, a small Open Brain, Bubble coral, A northern red Anemone, a clown, 3 blue/green Chromis, and 4 snails. The 10 gal is running the Berlin filtration. I seeded my 55 gal with two cups of sand and a piece of rock from the 10 gallon tank and threw in a snail. just yesterday i took out the littlest Chromis because he was getting picked on by the other three and put him in the 55 gal i know i should wait but i couldn't stand him getting bullied. He already looks better his color looks smoother and he is beginning to eat again. the brain worries me because his color is light pink on one side and kinda brown on the other. I don't know if hes bleaching or what. the bubble coral seems ok but he shrinks up completely at night. I cant wait to put everything in to the 55 gal. let me know what you guys think, any advice would be appreciated. Here is a link to my pics.

needlepimp/Kevin - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

By the way that green algae stuff is the bad stuff right? when I transfer the stuff to the 55 Gal I will harvest what I can, then hopefully get some blue leg hermits to help also.

Last edited:

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
Keep an eye on your light fixture if it is also made by Odyssea as some of their electrical stuff was iffy.....read fire hazard. Just a fyi I am not sure about the rest of their stuff though I think they have improved some on quality control.

A 10g is on the small side for all those fish and hopefully your intent is to move all over to the 55g once it is cycled and use the 10g as a quarantine tank.