newbie seeks veteran south american cichlid keepers advice

Hi,

I am looking to setup a 55 gallon tank in the next couple of weeks, and I've got a couple questions. I hope someone can help. I have a little experience keeping cichlids, but it's been years and I don't think I was doing it right back then (too many fish, not enough space according to what i've been researching recently), so i'm basically a newbie.

Initially I wanted to get an oscar, but when I realized that I could only keep one dude in a 55g tank I started looking at other species. I've been to most of my local fish stores and asked a bunch of questions, and I've scoured the web looking for information about cichlids. There's a lot of great information out there, but there's also a lot of conflicting opinion. Some people have said that you should start out with enough fish for what would eventually be a pretty cramped tank (by calculating future max fish length and gallons of tank), and that some of them will die off and you'll end up with a couple of big survivors that live a pretty long time and may even breed. Other's have said to just purchase one or a pair of cichlids (the amount that you would like to eventually end up with) and just replace them or start over if they die. Which of these is correct? I have been considering a few tank plans for each of these philosophies.

First tank layout:

55g tank
Only the strong survive:
1 green terror, red terror, or jack dempsey
and/or
2 (male/female) convict fish
2 (male/female) firemouth cichclids

can you keep firemouths and convicts together in a 55g tank? if so how many? is the bigger fish too much?

Second tank layout:
Our enterprise is a success:
1 or 2 jack dempeys, green terrors, red terrors, oscars, jaguars etc.

Any advice? What would be a good cichlid tank setup for a 55g tank. I'm not looking to upgrade for years.

I hope you can help :confused:

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL
55g tank
Only the strong survive: