Newbie with 55 gallon tank

Aug 16, 2005
I'm a lucky college student, I think. My aunt gave me a 55 gallon tank, gravel, castles, and plastic, glow-in-the-dark plants to start out with, but now i'm feeling a little lost. After reading through some of the threads here, it seems obvious the fishless cycling is the way to go (I hope Waly world carries the ammonia, nitrite, & nitrate testers since the nearest fish store is an hour away...wonderful Wyoming!)

Anyway, since i'm going to have some time before getting fish, I was hoping i could get some links or personal preferences on some colorful, hardy fish to start out with and recommendations on how many to get. Also, I have a power filter and a heater running, do i need anything else???? :confused:

NoDeltaH2O

Superstar Fish
Feb 17, 2005
SC
Seriously though,

Fishless cycling is a good way to go, although it then puts the pressure on you to stock the tank all at once.

Patience has its benefits when stocking a tank. I personally prefer to stock a tank the old fashion way, starting with a few small hardy fish, and going through the nitrogen cycle slowly, charting it all the way until you have naturally established your bacteria colonies. The biggest benefit to doing this is that it gives you plenty of time to decide on what fish you want to have in there. I bet you that the fish you want now will not be the fish you want one month, or two months from now.

I have been in the fish hobby for a couple of years now, and I am always wanting something different even now. We often want things we can't have (read here: can't keep alive), and stocking slowly gives you a lot of leeway in what you can and can't do.

There a few fundamental decisions you have to make:

Freshwater or saltwater
Big fish or small fish
live plants or plastic plants
low tech or high tech