Newto Fish tanks.. a little help please??

Jul 23, 2009
Hi, I am new to fish tanks. My son is 4 and he decided he wanted fish, as did my husband and I. We got a 10 g tank at a garage sale, and checked for leaks, and i got rid of their old rocks and got new everything. We got a Aqua-Tech filter and a air pump, some decor and all that. I was wondering if there was anything specific I need to do before adding fish? I know I have to let the water get to normal temp and all that, but chemical wise? I do not know anything about that stuff. Also about how many fish can we put into a 10g? Any suggestions or help ideas would be wonderful at this point, cuz i am a little lost. Thanks alot!

RexyTexel

Large Fish
Apr 29, 2009
Maryland
Okay well for one thing you need to add water conditioner to your tap water. This helps rid the water of chlorine, chloramines and heavy metals. You'll need this everytime you change water out of your fish tank.

Also you're no where near ready to put fish into that tank. It has to cycle. MissFishy has a great website, here, that will explain cycling to you. It also has great information about a lot of basic fish care. I suggest you read that first.

In a 10 gallon you can hold up to 10 inches of adult size fish. So you have to decide what fish you want first and go from there. You may not be able to get everything you want. 10 gallons honestly is not a lot of space to work with when it really comes down to it. Also if you're doing tropical freshwater fish you need a heater. It doesn't matter how hot your house is during the day. It's swinging temperatures that can stress and kill fish. Heaters keep your tank at a constant temperature and prevent this stress. Also don't mix goldfish with tropical fish. It's just not a good idea for either fish.

Jul 23, 2009