pet store... 2 thumbs down

fishums

Small Fish
Aug 3, 2009
Hi everyone im new and have been around the forums for a few days and thought i would introduce myself. I am very new to fish and have only been keeping for about a month. My interest was sparked when a friend of mine gave me a 55 gallon tank with a oscar about the size of a football and recently decided to get more fish. so i went to a petstore with tons of fresh and salt water fish and picked out a ten gallon tank. Then i was assisted by a worker on the fish to put in it. i found a few i liked and the lady verified they would all do fine in the ten gallon tank. Now comes the bad part... So the fish i have in this tank are 2 African Cichlids a yellow one and a striped blue one. They are about an inch, inch and a half long. Also i have an iridescent shark that's about 2 and a half inches. As well as a pleco thats about 3 inches... The lady said everything would be okay. Well luckily for my fish i found this website and did some reading. The good news is that within 3 weeks i will have another 55 gallon tank and from my understanding that will work for the pleco and the Cichlids, as far as the shark im still not sure. The store has a no return policy and on top of that the Cichlids are nipping his fins terribly and i fear i am running out of time. For right now i am going to put the shark alone in my girlfriends 5 gallon tank but it will be moved as soon as possibly. I was wondering about possibly a tank divider when i get the 55 gall but im not sure if either fish would benefit. I feel terrible for moving the fish into such poor conditions. To make things worse the employee told me nothing about cycling a tank other than just put a goldfish in it with the filter going for a few days. Some how it worked, the fish are still alive but i am furious that i was not informed how to properly care for these fish:mad:. So the main question i have is is their anyway to make these four fish live together without proble