Planning my first tank and in need of experienced help

Jerica

New Fish
Jul 29, 2013
Hi everyone! I am a complete aquarium virgin but I really want a tank. I love cichlids and would eventually like to get a tank with firemouths and assorted rainbow fish with a small school of corys. Are those fish even compatible? According to the research I have done they could be but I was wondering if anyone has done it. However, I am thinking due to the expensive nature and size of the tank needed (not to mention the fish themselves) I should start with something smaller to gain some experience. Does anyone have suggestions about a few colorful community species I could start with? I am thinking a 20-30 gal to start. Any concerns or advice will be welcomed. Like I said I havn't bought anything yet. I'm a compulsive researcher lol. It took me months to decide on a cichlid species that wasn't too big or agressive for my EVENTUAL tank. I plan to get things rolling in the next few months and am in desperate need of a plan for my starter tank.

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Welcome!

I don't know much about cichlids. The only fish I currently have in the cichlid family is a koi angle fish. He/she is like a puppy dog, in that he wags his whole body any time someone walks into the room- wanting to eat.

My last go with cichlids was 25yrs ago when I had ~6 "misc. african cichlids" in a 20g long. Didn't work out too well in the long run because I knew nothing of water parameter testing and regular water changes at the time.

I'd think you'd be limited in what you could put in a 20-30 in that realm, aside from shell-dwellers (super cool IMO). I'm not sure which would be compatible with corydoras.

FWIW, a 20g long is an ideal starter tank if you're brand-new to tankaholism. 29's are great too IMO. Same footprint as the 20, but 9g taller, LOL.

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois