plants??

Aug 16, 2005
I'm new to this, my aunt gave me a 55 gallon tank, and it seems that fish get a little pricey for my college budget...so i was wondering if live plants are worth it.

how much can i expect to spend maintaining them and are there any good, simple sites that explain their needs for a beginner?? I've figured out that CO2 is noramlly limiting, but i'm not sure what the cheapest and safest solution is... what else do i need to know??

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Plants don't need to be hugely expensive. There are a lot of sites where hobbyists sell plants very cheaply, and there are many things you can DIY. The main expense if you want to have a big choice of plants is the cost of the lighting. If you go for a medium-light tank, you can get away with DIY CO2 and have a range of plants. Fertilizers can be bought bulk from places like www.gregwatson.com and will probably cost less than $15 for enough to last you a year or two, but you will need to do some research on how to use the ferts correctly. If you go for a fairly low-tech plant tank, I think the set-up cost will be about the same as if you buy a whole bunch of plastic plants, and of course, real plants make new plants, so you can always sell or trade what you have grown, and fill a tank from only a few plants. Live plants do take a little more care and maintenance than one planted with plastic plants.

This is a nice article on starting a planted tank: http://www.plantgeek.net/article_viewer.php?id=17

Sep 11, 2005
Philadelphia
www.myspace.com
There are a good amount of plants that not only have low light requirements, but are also not picky about water conditions. I generally stay with those even though I have some experience with plants. Sometimes it's just that much more fun to buy the hard-to-kill varieties, as you have more time to enjoy them rather than worrying about them.