PLease help Identify!

Dec 12, 2008
Hey guys,
I am fairly new to the saltwater tank, I have had my tank for about five months now it was allready established. Transfered everything from a guy that i bought it from about 60 miles away, saved water and all. My rock has regained its red color, but i have all these green and brownish plants overtaking my tank. How can I control them or even cut some of them. At first they were cool looking but they have completely overtaken my tank!!! Help! Not even sure what these are called would love to know!

Ty
Lil John

Attachments

Jun 7, 2008
india
It Depends What You Feeding Your Tank These Days
Test For Phosphate Level
Test For Iron
If Both Are High
With High Nitrate
Then Man This Typical Brown Hash Algae Which Grows On Sea Shores
Dim Your Light A Bit
Change Water
Then See If Those Activity Have Some Efeect On These Growing Things

zoalover34

Superstar Fish
Jun 5, 2006
Kent, OH
They are apista.. Your feeding really has no affect on these. From my understanding water quality has nothing to do with them.. They were probably on some rock when you got it..They spread pretty fast as you can tell lol. Your best bet is to take the rock out that has alot and scrub it.. Try buying Joes juice or you can also try peperment shrimp. They have been known to eat them..

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
like jim said water quality has nothing do with these (definitly aptasia btw) except taking the rocks out and scrubbing wont help either! redsea's atasia x works really good! also peppermint shrimp sometimes eat them but its kinda hit or miss some eat them some dont, you can try injecting them with a kalk paste, lemon juice or almost boiling water works aswell... goodluck tho i kno they can be a PITA :p oh and welcome to the site!

Dec 12, 2008