please help...total newbie needs tank advice...

cybersymes

Large Fish
Nov 3, 2005
'serendipity' tank
high y'all...first mail here...really chuffed to be in the tank me is...
as i'm a complete newbie i have a major first question...
wot size of tank... ???

i can fit a rio 125 or 180 in the space i've got...
now i can hear you all chanting in harmony...'bigger is better'... :)
and i can see the logic and appeal of this...oh yes...

but the 180 is a 40 galleon dude...and i guess will weigh around 30 stone...
yikez...i worry that as the tank has to go on a kitchen work-surface...
it may be waaaaaaaaaaay too heavy...

i have installed legs under the fairly heavy duty worktop...
but as a dishwasher is directly below the tank area...
it leaves a 'gap' of unsupported surface of 2feet 3inches...

i have battons on all edges where the worktop touches the walls...
and they have 'straps' going down to the skirting board...
so i've done as much as i can...
[without stripping the whole room to insert a steel plate...
and i have considered this...sorta...:)]

so in light of all this confusiling info...whattdya fink...
go 125...or max out at 180...

please drop me a line...i'm getting a tank on saturday...
my first ever...and i'm excited...looking forward to a fishless cycle...
and then building a funky community of super-cool fish-bods...

thanks in advance...i really could do with some help...
chears...simon... :)

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Is the 125 a 125 liter tank? That would still weigh around 18 stone (by the way, only the UK uses stone as a measurement, so it can get confusing. It would be better to refer to the weight in kilos or pounds so people can work it out:) )

cybersymes

Large Fish
Nov 3, 2005
'serendipity' tank
Lotus said: