Quarantine Tank

Mikro

New Fish
Mar 23, 2005
This is my first attempt at a quarantine tank.
I guess I may have to use it as a hospital tank too if the need arises...

10 gal. glass aquarium
Marineland Biowheel 100 Power Filter
2" cc (from my 75 gal display tank)
2 25 watt incandescent bulbs
1 100 watt heater

Is this the right idea? Is 10gal. too small?

I have a small Percula Clown in there now..

TIA

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
should be just fine. i would reccomend adding some plastic plants and some PVC pipe just to create a safe feeling for your perc until he moves out. what I do is keep a filter pad just floating in my sump of my display so that when i need to set up the QT it is colonized with some bacterias.

Mikro

New Fish
Mar 23, 2005
1979camaro said:
should be just fine. i would reccomend adding some plastic plants and some PVC pipe just to create a safe feeling for your perc until he moves out. what I do is keep a filter pad just floating in my sump of my display so that when i need to set up the QT it is colonized with some bacterias.
That is something I was wondering about. So you break down the tank while its not needed then set it up again if you get a fish? And you use the filter pad for the bacteria? I have crushed coral in there now (I switched out the cc in my 75 gal for sand recently so I had some left over) for the bacteria.

Thanks for the relpy...

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
Question: when you set up a quarantine tank and use water from your regular tank is the water not already cycled and contains the bacteria needed or could you move a small piece of live rock along with the water it is in??? My plan was to set up a small tank in another room to use as a quarantine such as a 12 g nano cube with fish only...??? would this work?

S.Reef

Superstar Fish
Dec 1, 2003
Michigan