Questions about starting a new tank

Finney

Small Fish
Jun 17, 2005
Hi, I am new to fishkeeping and I have a few questions. I haven’t bought anything yet because I am still researching and trying to decide if I should start a tank. I would like to start a 20 gallon aquarium this summer and eventually have a community of guppies, neon tetras, bleeding heart tetras, harlequin rasboras, small cories and a blue dwarf gourami. I’m not sure of exact numbers yet, and I know there’s a limit with the tank size, but are these species generally compatible? Any other suggestions of colorful and interesting fish that are good for beginners? I would love to eventually get a Blue Ram, but I’ve heard they are sensitive.

I plan to do a fishless cycle; however, I will be away for a week approx. 2 weeks after I start the cycle. I think the cycle will be well under way by the time I leave, but will it be able to continue without a source of ammonia while I am away or will the bacteria die during this time? Would it work to add one or two fish before I leave (hopefully the cycle will be almost complete by then)? Do you think these fish would be ok with little or no feeding for the week (if I can’t get someone to feed them)? If so, what species would be best?

My other dilemma is that I will have to move the tank at the end of August. I’ll be moving one hour away for university. Is there a way to move everything that would allow me to preserve the helpful bacteria so that I won’t have to re-cycle the tank at the new place? The reason I’m starting the tank at home in the summer is so I’ll have it cycled and have some experience for when I go back to school, because I know I won’t have a lot of time once school starts (other than for regular maintenance).

Is it best for a beginner to have a planted tank? Or should I have some fake and some real plants?

Thanks for any advice and sorry this post is so long.

phOOey

Superstar Fish
Oct 31, 2003
Nottingham, UK
hi.