Questions and story

Sep 19, 2012
Clearwater, Fl
Ok, I am relatively new to fish keeping.I started out with a goldfish I won at the fair. It lasted 6 months(pretty good right)? However, the only reason it died was because I got a 5 gallon tank and didn’t cycle it. So I ended up putting him in there and he died…. It was a sad day indeed. After cycling and such, I went to the store and got some new fish. A Red wag Platy And two guppies. All was well. Then one guppy died mysteriously and then the same happened to the other. The platy was fine though. (this place had a return policy so I didn’t waste that much money). I got my water sample checked and everything was above average. So I got a silver molly. He lived for a week so i got a another fish, a variutus platy. They have lived happily ever since i got the tank working out. Recently I went to the nearby creek and caught me a sail fin molly and a craw fish. (very small). The molly died within hours but the craw fish lived. I know right now your probably screaming at me because i have stuffed my tank but here me out. The craw fish molted the next day and got bigger. Still didn’t think it was a problem. So since the molly died I went to my friends(veteran fish tanker) favorite place to fish shop. I looked and looked then i saw what i was looking for… I didn’t know much about it but I wanted it. It was a swordtail. I took him home and got him settled in. he was great for a few days then I woke and saw a horror. The swordtails “sword” had been ripped off! I was pissed… I knew it was the craw fish too. So I took him and threw out my front door in anger. As of right now my tank is happy even though I’m pushing the limit of fish.
So now that I’ve told you my background, I’ve been wanting to upgrade to a 30 gallon aquarium for Christmas. My parents said yes.
1. Will my Swordtails “sword” grow back?
2. I’ve been researching a lot and was curious, will my fish adjust to the larger aquarium?
3.Should I get another swordtail?