Quick SW question!

Dr.Gonzo

Large Fish
May 21, 2006
Omaha Ne
Why do Marine fish need salt water (I know this seems silly)? I'm trying to think of the reason they have to have a specific amount of Salt in their water to live.

Also how long could you average salty live in fresh water? Minutes? Hours? Days? Before they die?

come on Pure don't fail me now.

Limi310

Superstar Fish
Nov 30, 2005
Charlotte, NC
To keep it simple (because I am not a scientist and can't explain it as such) I believe it has to do with Osmosis......namely Osmotic Pressure. A fish is adapted to a certain sality (such as a salt water fish) and when placed in a dramaticaly different salinty their cells can basically.............burst. A salt water fish placed in FW will die very quickly. Hope that helps, someone else may be able to explain it better.

fishlover1

Large Fish
Jan 24, 2006
i heard that if you put a FW fish in SW it would dehydrate sp? very fast because it doesent let out the saltout of its body unlike the SW fish.

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
SW fish are adapted to live in the higher salinity of SW, in that they conserve water in their bodies and expel the salt at a much higher rate than FW fish... FW fish pee a lot of weak urine to conserve their salt, and SW fish pee only a little of very highly concentrated (salty) urine to conserve their water.

This is from Aquarium Fish by Dick Mills:

------------------------------------
Osmosis