Rookie Tank

vinodhv

Large Fish
Jul 26, 2005
chapel hill, nc
Hey there

I'm really new to fish keeping and want to buy my first tank ASAP. My two choices right now are a 29 gallon tank, with hood and filter from a pets store and work from there. Option B is to buy a tank second hand - a 55 gallon tank that has been working for over a year with 12 goldfish.

What should i do? I'm also working on a budget. Option A costs about 60$ for the tank. Option B with everything is a flat 100$.

thanks!

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
The 55g sounds like a better deal, if you can get it without the goldfish, or know someone who will take them. If you get the 29g tank, you'll also have to get a heater, gravel and decorations, which can easily add up to an extra $40.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
You could introduce them to the tank as soon as you move the goldies to their new home. Because there have been fish in the tank it is already cycled. Just be sure not to rinse the filter or anything with tap (chlorinated) water or you'll kill that good bacteria.

I know a couple of ma and pop fish stores nearby who would take the goldfish in...if you can't find someone who has a pond you might try a store that has goldfish/koi for sale??