Salt in my freshwater tank

sombunya

Large Fish
Jul 25, 2008
So. Cal. USA
I bought a couple of softening pillows for my tank because the water where I live is quite hard and I need to get the ph down near 7.

The aquarium salt I bought to recharge the pillows states it is safe to use in all freshwater tanks and actually said nothing about recharging softening pillows.

I called the tech line of the company and the guy told me that a tablespoon for every 5 gallons is just right and just put a dish on the floor of the tank with the salt in it. Just be careful and only add more when doing water changes, not when topping off with water as the salt does not evaporate, of course. At the very least it won't harm anything and is beneficial in almost all cases.

I did a water change and currently the ratio is about a tablespoon for every 7 gallons instead of 5. Seems strange to me. The fish like to go in and poke around in it!

I am a newbie so I've never heard of adding (freshwater aquarium) salt to a tank. Is this really beneficial? Have I been missing something for a while now?

sombunya

Large Fish
Jul 25, 2008
So. Cal. USA
The tech fellow was talking about electrolytes, and how fish lose them as they essentially pump water through themselves. I guess the bottom line is it helps to keep a healthy tank healthy.

The recommended dose is 1 tablespoon to 5 gallons. I'm using a little less so the chances are zero I will accidentally go over that dose. Saltwater tanks use about 80 times that amount.

The ph was a high 7. I'm trying to move it to a low 7. The lady at the tropical fish store advised it, and all of her tanks, fresh and salt, look like Swarovski crystal.

FWIW, I've kept it this way for about a week now and it has never looked better. Just trying to get a few opinions here and I appreciate your response.

Jul 12, 2008
Reading, PA
I bought a water softening pillow for my rena a few months back. I didn't use it, wasted money.