Saltwater vs Freshwater

Jan 16, 2008
Rockaway, NJ
Ok, please forgive me, I'm a newbie to this forum. I have had a 45g freshwater chiclid tank for 12 years. Our basement is in process of remodeling and I am going to purchase a 120g or 150g tank. I would like to turn my 45g into saltwater, but I'm terrified! I have heard that it's not that much harder. Ideally, I would love to start the big tank as salt, but I realized very quickly that it would be cost prohibited. I also heard that I shouldn't start a saltwater tank under 55g.

Any thoughts and suggestions would greatly be helpful.

Thanks!

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC
You can do a saltwater tank under 55g without any issues at all. The cost is going to be high even for a 45g tank. With a tank that size you will need probably about 60 pounds of LR and I would say it goes on average for about $7 a pound so there is $420 right there (if I'm doing my math right). Plus you would have to get the sand, powerheads, salt, etc... Usually saltwater will cost more then you expect it to. They are amazing aquariums and if you can do when then you should, but it won't come too cheap.

Jan 16, 2008
Rockaway, NJ
Thanks!

In your opinion, is the start up & upkeep much harder for salt vs freshwater? I understand there is more involved. I've been told that once the tank is established, its not that much different.

kendakr

Small Fish
Oct 8, 2006